Made-Up Bits

a personal blog, by Sven Seebeck -

Green Wide World

Those of you who are following me on Twitter, will already have noticed my continious weather rants (I’m considering a separate account only for my weather rants). It’s has been not very photographic recently, or when it is, I’m at work. But no can do, unless someone comes up with a law which enables people to take off work once the conditions are right. But I really don’t see that happening.

So here’s one from the archives. I took this in Koitelinkoski in July this year. This is really a great place to shoot. I’ve been there twice this year, and look forward to return there once we have some more snow and before it’s totally frozen. Let’s hope for the best.

As the the filters were not strong enough to compensate entirely for the dynamic difference between sky and foreground, the original shot is a little underexposed. I did almost all adjustments in Lightroom and some final adjustments in Photoshop using my favorite LAB color adjustments and a minor Level adjustment.

There were some requests to publish a little tutorial on how I processed the last image, which I hopefully have up in the near future.

On a side note I got me a bright new shiny Mac and did the processing on that one, meaning I hope the colors come out right.

I hope you like it and thanks for visiting my blog.

UPDATE: I know have finally set a new monitor, and while I’m still not 100% sure about the calibration, I noticed the first post to be way too much saturated. I know have uploaded a new version and continue now, to figure out, how to calibrate my second monitor.

UPDATE 2: It’s unbelievable. I again uploaded the wrong version of the file. I did manage now to calibrate my monitor and edited this version.

View the original, unprocessed version of this image

Posted in:
✴️ Also on Micro.blog or ✍️ Reply by email