Made-Up Bits

a personal blog, by Sven Seebeck -

The Paperwhite

At the end of last year I wrote a piece about my inability to read as much as I would like to, and I kind of challenged myself to improve on this. Suffice to say, that it is not there where I would like it to be, but at least it has gotten better.

First off I continued with reading Packing For Mars which had been on my list already last year and eventually managed to finish it. As usual I have been mostly reading on either the iPad or the iPhone. As Amazon updated it’s iOS app and introduced it’s new font, Bookerly, I started to spent a lot more time in the Kindle app and eventually purchased the new and updated Kindle Paperwhite. My eyes grew a bit tired of reading from the reflective screen of either iDevice and I thought it would be at least worth a try to have a look at a dedicated device for reading.

Since this was my first Kindle, I did not quite know what to expect and in short: I like it a lot. It is a very nice reading experience and I feel very comfortable reading on it at all times. I have it lying around the apartment and always grab it to catch up with some quick reading when I have the time for it.

Since I got it I have not read as much as many others do, but at least and I have read A LOT more than I usually do. Even though I still don’t have as much time as I would like to, I try to read at least some every day. As a little goes a long way I am able to finish each book eventually.

Additionally I make the effort now, as opposed to the collection of my many half-finished books, to finish each book I start, even it turns out to be not quite what I expected. There is still the good feeling of achievement of having finished the book. The Kindle helps me a lot with that, as it is, at least at home, always close by, and I can grab it and read a few pages.

Also I do enjoy some of the Kindle features, such as being able to see what other readers have highlighted in a specific book. This serves as a good inspiration and source of quotes. As last year, I will publish a list of books that I actually finished at the end of this year to challenge myself a little.

Posted in:
✴️ Also on Micro.blog or ✍️ Reply by email