Made-Up Bits

a personal blog, by Sven Seebeck -

Similarities or Universal Truths?

As a musician and a person who enjoys to write (which in fact is more typing) I am always trying to improve my skills. Whether it is on the music side, or the writing side. To improve my writing skills I am currently reading William Zissner On Writing Well, which is very good and inspiring.

What struck me, is that many of the presented ideas and concepts can be in the same way applied to improving ones musical skills, if just writing is replaced with playing or improvising. I would go so far to say, that they might be in fact universal truths for all kinds of arts.

Writing is learned by imitation. If anyone asked me how I learned to write, I’d say I learned by reading the men and women who were doing the kind of writing I wanted to do and trying to figure out how they did it. But cultivate the best models.

or:

Good writing doesn’t come naturally, though most people seem to think it does.

also:

You are writing primarily to please yourself, and if you go about it with enjoyment you will also entertain the readers who are worth writing for.

If you have been working in the field of music, or music education, not necessarily the exact quotes, but the underlying concepts will sound familiar. As so often, it is always good to look for ideas outside the comfort zone.

Posted in:
✴️ Also on Micro.blog or ✍️ Reply by email