Made-Up Bits

a personal blog, by Sven Seebeck -

My “The Books I Read List for 2018”

I started out rather strong and finished a couple of books right in the beginning of the year, and then I explored Audiobooks, which was the moment, when thing got, not necessarily out of hand, but surely a bit wild.

Once I started to read audiobooks two things happened almost immediately:

  1. The time I spent reading an actual book declined almost immediately (this has also to do with the fact that I prefer focussing on one book at the time)
  2. The time spent listening to podcasts declining equally dramatically. This is something that I always was thinking during all the Audible ads during podcasts: what I start listening to those, I will stop listening to this. Guess what, it happened. At the moment I have a developed a bit better balance, usually catching up with some shows once I have finished another book.

But now the books. First the actual books, and then the audiobooks. Technically there are a few audio-dramas in between, but I kept them in anyway. Also, I did not link to the book either, kind of was too lazy for that.

The Books

  1. James S.A. Corey: Persepolis Rising
  2. Dan Brown: Origin
  3. John Scalzi: Your Hatemail Will Be Graded
  4. Terry Pratchett & Neil Gaiman: Good Omens
  5. V.A.Schwab: Vicous

The Audiobooks

  1. Douglas Adams: Life, the Universe and Everything
  2. Douglas Adams: Mostly Harmless
  3. Douglas Adams: So long, and thanks for all the fish
  4. Douglas Adams: The Hitchhikers Guide
  5. Douglas Adams: The Restaurant at the end of the world
  6. Ernest Cline: Ready Player One
  7. Martha Wells: All Systems Red
  8. Martha Wells: Exit Strategy
  9. Martha Wells: Rogue Protocol
  10. Martha Wells: Artificial Condition
  11. William Peter Blatty: The Exorcist
  12. Ransom Riggs: Library Of Souls
  13. Ransom Riggs: Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children
  14. Ransom Riggs: Hollow City
  15. Stephen King: Elevated
  16. Stephen Hawking: A Brief History Of Time
  17. Margaret Atwood: The Handmaid’s Tale
  18. Stephen Fry: Mythos -The Greek Myths Retold
  19. Stephen Fry: Stephen Fry’s Victorian Secrets
  20. Neil Degrasse Tyson: Astrophysics for People in A Hurry
  21. Neil Gaiman: Neverwhere
  22. Tim Lebbon, Dirk Maggs: Alien – Out Of The Shadows
  23. George R.R. Martin: Nightflyers and Other Stories
  24. John Scalzi: The Consuming Fire
  25. John Scalzi: The Android’s Dream
  26. John Scalzi: The Redshirts
  27. John Scalzi: Agent To The Stars
  28. John Scalzi: Head On
  29. John Scalzi: The End Of All Things
  30. John Scalzi: The Human Division
  31. John Scalzi: Zoe’s Tale
  32. John Scalzi: The Collapsing Empire
  33. John Scalzi: Lock In
  34. Jason Dark: John Sinclair Compilation 4-7
  35. N.K. Nemesin: The Stone Sky
  36. N.K. Nemesin: The Obelisk Gate
  37. N.K. Nemesin: The Fifth Season
  38. Jonathan Maberry: Lullaby
  39. Michael McDowell: Blackwater – The Complete Saga
  40. Herbie Hancock: Possibilities
  41. Joe Harris, Chris Carter, Dikr Maggs: The X-Files – Cold Cases
  42. Sir Conan Doyle: Sherlock Holmes – The Definite Collection
  43. Daniel José Older: The Last Shot
  44. Peter Clines: The Fold
  45. Peter Clines: 14

45 audiobooks! I’m sure there are people that have been listening to more, but I think this is quite an achievement. For my yearly stats post I had already calculated that this sums up to 23 days and 1 hour listening to audiobooks.

I’m looking forward to see how my list for next year is going to look like.

Posted in:
✴️ Also on Micro.blog or ✍️ Reply by email