Made-Up Bits

a personal blog, by Sven Seebeck -

Weeknotes No 10

During the weeks since my last weeks not much had happened, and mostly everything was, like for everyone else, one big Groundhog Day. That pretty much sums it up. The last week though saw our daughter’s birthday and two amazing cakes and was happy to have succesfully created an Ubuntu thumb-drive.

That I have then used to revive an old, partly broken and otherwise unusable MacBook with a fresh Ubuntu install. I felt like a superhero and it is running just nicely. While installing it on that old machine was but a test, it is though part of a larger attempt of simplifying my things and with it switching over to Linux. Something that I used to, about 16 years or so ago.

My main machine will be dual-booted any day now. I’ll keep you posted.

Work things

The lockdown up here has been mildly been lifted and schools have partly opened again, our school is though still closed and remote teaching went on as usual. Everyone got more and more used to it and by now it is pretty much routine. We all made it to the end and by next week the summer vacation is about to start.

After this Spring I think everyone, teachers and students alike, have deserved some rest.

Things watched

During the last 9-10 weeks I did not really watch much, at least not since my last update. I kind of stuck to my routine of preparing my lessons in the night and kept running Star Trek TNG in the background, but to be honest not much else.

Things read

I did however read quite a bit and finished my Sandman binge and continued with Cory Doctorow’s Little Brother series which made quite an impression on me. Also I continued with following Wil Wheaton’sRadio Free Burrito” podcast.

So, that being said, I’m separated my only one week from summer vacation and plan to learn more about Emacs (I have a post already in the pipeline, but is this thing amazing!) and get up Ubuntu running on my main machine as well.

Posted in:
✴️ Also on Micro.blog or ✍️ Reply by email