Made-Up Bits

a personal blog, by Sven Seebeck -

(Very) Slowly going back to Emacs

During the last few weeks I have spent some time re-learning and configuring EMACS again. I already had a working-for-me setup last year on Linux but then switched the OS (don’t ask, I had reasons, it’s complicated and I regret doing it anyway) and on Windows it had been too fiddly to set up.

Now, with the death of the laptop, the chapter is done and I’m getting very slowly back into it… very slowly.

Then I had used EMACS only for a relatively short time but got to a point where it almost did what I wanted (LOL) but now it is time to re-learn and while it was shocking to notice how much I managed to forget in the few months between the OS switch and the end of said laptop, it is fun to re-learn.

I’m not trying to use it for everything at once, but rather start using is for the things that I’m already familiar with and then go from there, that is: Elfeed is working smoothly and I’m currently trying to figure out whether I should stick with Zetteldeft or rather just use a single ORG-file for notes. Big problems I know.

I’m currently using it on a Mac, but have to say that certain things surely are a lot simpler on Linux. It took a while to figure out how to make the keyboard shortcuts not conflicting with OS-wide shortcuts and, since you ran into plenty spelling errors by now already, how to get Flyspell to run.

But hey, I’m not in a hurry and I like how the app makes me (forces me actually) to lean new things.

Next up: figuring out how to post to this blog directly.

✴️ Also on Micro.blog or ✍️ Reply by email