Made-Up Bits

a personal blog, by Sven Seebeck -

A BeBop-Scale Loop

I like to come up with looping exercise like this, because they are a quick way to learn some new material and built-up vocabulary and technique.

It’s time for another looping exercise. While practicing I was looking for a way to run through BeBop-scales in all keys following the ideas/concept as described in Jeff Elwood’s e-book Developing Be-Bop Lines and came up with this little loop.

The exercise follows the idea breaking down the BeBop scale into three arpeggios followed by the BeBop passing note (again check out his book, it’s worth it) and then resolves into the next chord in the cycle of 4ths.

The book features the best description on how to built/play BeBop lines that I came across and I can’t recommend it highly enough. I suggest you go and check it out and as a bonus this loop will make a lot more sense to you afterwards.

Posted in:
✴️ Also on Micro.blog or ✍️ Reply by email