Made-Up Bits

a personal blog, by Sven Seebeck -

Trying to find Balance with Music, Podcasts and Audiobooks

Podcasts, for many years had been a steady companion in my daily life, so much so, that I listen to way more podcasts, than for example music. At one point during the last year though, I started to become interested into Audiobooks, and quickly got hooked. It didn’t took long before my Audiobook habit more or less replaced my Podcast habit.

During my extensive Audiobook phase, I only caught up with a few select podcasts and marked most of them either as read or completely unsubscribed. Things were fine until I started to miss podcasts. Since my audiobook-habit started to get expensive anyway, I stopped that and focused more on podcasts again.

Now that I’m on a audiobook-hiatus, it took only a few weeks before I was having a full schedule listening to shows. And soon thereafter, as things tend to go, I started to miss listening to audiobooks, even though there wouldn’t be enough time in the day to listen any.

In short: I need to find balance between them.

During the last day I kept thinking and came up with the idea organize my listening habits by external activities. For example I can’t stand listen to music when I’m riding the bike or walk the dog. Equally listening to a podcast or audiobook while running isn’t working either. Not that I haven’t tried.

My idea is now such:

  • When on commute (bike) I will catch up with podcasts
  • When driving long distances, chores: interchange shows and audiobook
  • When walking the dog it’s audiobook time
  • When running: music

It’s not entirely thought through and needs more refinement, but it’s at least something to start with. Let’s see how this is going to work out.

Posted in:
✴️ Also on Micro.blog or ✍️ Reply by email