Made-Up Bits

a personal blog, by Sven Seebeck -

Weeknotes #2

The beginning of the week was a bit busy but I got some work done and currently I’m up in the north again for some concerts with the students. This turns out to be surprisingly less stressful. Since the concerts don’t start before 11pm there is not much to do during the day time.

So I’m mostly using the time to take a walk, to catch up with some reading and do some writing (obviously). If I could, I would be doing some downhill skiing, which still is possible up here.

Things Watched

Historically I have very little time during a normal week and hardly ever find enough time, or are too exhausted, to watch something. During this week though I at least managed to watch Into the Spiderverse, which was fun and I enjoyed this movie. There were moments I even forgot this is an animated movie.

Podcasts

According to my log I listened to 10 shows this week, the one on Rationalization on You Are Not That Smart and Stephen Fry’s Great Leap Years stood out again.

Blog

I did some updates to the Archive and About page. Also introduced header images (as you might have noticed already). I kind of like the faux-painted look which also gives me the possibility to re-use images that I took a long time ago.

Also I adjusted my theme with a bit of help from David of Blot.im which enables me to add some different styling for certain kind of posts. I have some ideas for quote-posts which I now finally might be able to get done.

I also figured that I can add a JSON-feed to this blog which I will try add that during the next week.

Reading

Just the other day I finished James S.A. Corey’s “Tiamat’s Wrath” and after looking around I decided to continue the audiobook version of Sylvain Neuvel’s Sleeping Giants. By the time of this writing I’m about halfway in and really like it. It like the way the book works. It’s more or less a collection of reports, similar to World Way Z.

My first idea was to start The Three Body Problem, but it’s again a series and I was looking for something that I can get through this weekend maybe.

Update: finished the book early in the morning and didn’t realize that it is also the first part in a series. So, now I’m continuing with the next book in the series: Waking Gods.

And now off into the next week.

Posted in:
✴️ Also on Micro.blog or ✍️ Reply by email