Made-Up Bits

a personal blog, by Sven Seebeck -

Weeknotes #9

It’s “Corona Lockdown: Week 3” (I believe) and with it another week is done, suffice it to say, not much has changed. Here’s the gist.

Working from Home

This working from home, and hence sitting in front of the computer most of the day, has it consequences it seems. Good and bad.

First of all I try to optimize my setup and make things working as smooth as possible on my machine by learning more shortcuts. I guess the urge for a little rest from time to time revived my interest in blogging. These are positive things I guess.

I did however, during the “optimizing” part, started to reconsider plain-text task-management and read up on org-mode again. I should remind myself again that my Bullet Journal setup had worked flawlessly during the last year.

As for the technical parts, teaching via a video call did feel pretty normal from the beginning and after the last few weeks has gotten even more normal if that is a thing. I know many of my colleagues are using Zoom which I try to avoid as much as possible, but at least things are improving on Zoom’s part.

Things watched

I continue re-watching Star Trek the Next Generation, even though I’m not actively watching, but rather keep it running on a second display while burning the midnight oil to keep me company.

Listening and Reading

Since my “commute” is now defined as the distance between bedroom, kitchen and the kids’ room out of which I usually teach, there is not much time catch up with a significant amount podcasts or audiobooks. Since I have cancelled my subscription of the latter for a while, I focus at the moment on podcasts again and catch up with my extensive backlog.

I already wrote about it, but I enjoyed LeVar Burton’s reading of Max Gladstone’s A Kiss With Teeth, and plan to listen more of his show. As usual “The Bugle” is a fun show.

I’m still reading “The Kindly Ones” and my plans of finishing it last weekend were ruined by these three new arrangements that came up. Next weekend maybe.

I guess that it’s for now, and I doubt the next Weeknotes will be much different. I guess, we’ll see.

Posted in:
✴️ Also on Micro.blog or ✍️ Reply by email