Made-Up Bits

a personal blog, by Sven Seebeck -

Re: my Reading-List

My plan has worked out well and I finished the books on my Reading-List. As some of the books I planned were not available as I planned in the library, I took some detours and started two books that had been on my “want-to-read” list for a while already. Started… not finished. But more on that a little later in this post.

As planned I finished:

  • Neil Gaiman: Don’t Panic
  • Douglas Adams: Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency
  • Grady Hendrix: The Final Girl Support
  • Terry Pratchett/Neil Gaiman: Good Omens
  • V.E.Schwab: Galant
  • Cassandra Khaw: Nothing But Blackened Teeth

And since I enjoyed the Douglas Adams book so much I also read, you know completionist:

  • Douglas Adams: The Long Dark Tea Time of the Soul

I have updated the Book-Log accordingly.

While I was waiting for both Galant and the full cast production of Good Omens (the library didn’t had the new version yet, so I chose the “older” one, also great and features a cameo appearance of both Terry and Neil) I started to read “Ready Player Two” and Anne Rice’s “Interview with the Vampire”.

The latter was nice, but didn’t really fit into what I was looking to read at the moment, and I will catch up with it later, but the former was downright annoying me.

I didn’t even get far into the book, but the endless 80’s Pop-Culture references, which had its charm in the first book, felt just too much this time. The book lost me when the author was referencing Helloween’s “Keeper of the Seven Keys” (a record I bought myself when it was released, back…in…the…days…), and had the feeling that the author surely is running out of things to reference by now.

Additionally there had been already in the beginning too many moments in which certain acquired skills by the main character, were just a tad too convenient. I remember similar notions in the first book.

But anyway. I have now finished with my list and will start Lord of Chaos, the sixth book in the Wheel of Time series by Robert Jordan, now.

After that? Let’s see.

✴️ Also on Micro.blog or ✍️ Reply by email